A Dove; Symbol of Peace

After visiting Custom Quilling’s blog post about quilling and scroll saw woodworking, I wanted to see if I could make some ornaments using wood cut outs.  I ventured into Michaels craft store and found some that I thought might work.  

I painted them all white and then started working on the dove.  I wanted to fill it all in with white quilling and wanted it to look like feathers, so I used the comb method.  For the tail, I used marquis shapes. 


Once I filled in the open spaces, I then added a green piece to represent the olive branch. 


I then added a coat of sealant to protect it and a sprinkling of iridescent glitter. Have you figured out I am addicted to glitter yet? (It’s appropriate that I work in a preschool where we use it a lot.)

Here is my finished dove. 

8 comments

  1. I am in awe of people who can quill. I have neither the dexterity nor the patience to make it work. This is really beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

